Day 2

Let me start by saying that last night I reread the detox program and found a list of foods that should be avoided while detoxing and also a list to include. Orange juice was on the avoid list! While my drink was delicious, it wasn’t part of the plan, so I created a new one today with pineapple and carrots (both acceptable per the list).

Pineapple carrot juice

1 (14 oz) can sliced carrots

1 cup crushed pineapple with 100% natural juice

Rinse the carrots very well to remove as much sodium as possible before making the juice. Place the carrots into a large glass jar, and using a hand blender, make a puree out of the carrots (it becomes the consistency of baby food). Add the pineapple and blend it into the carrots. Serve over crushed ice or blend the ice into the drink. Viola!

You can find the lists here: to include and to avoid.

I was also curious about snacks during the detox program, but then I came across this statement: “While following any type of detox plan or restrictive diet, it’s important to stay hydrated. Drink plenty of water, flavoring it with lemon or mint if you want. For snacks, try raw veggies, fresh berries, or raw almonds, along with herbal tea. And for optimal cleansing, leave at least 12 hours between dinner and breakfast.” http://www.wholeliving.com/photogallery/action-plan-menus

I am not the only one on the web detoxing. I found another meat free individual who is starting her cleansing today. I think it is that time of year, when you not only think about spring cleaning for your home, but also for your body. http://greenveganliving.blogspot.com/2010/02/cleansing.html

Ok, so now that it is day 2, I feel like I am on the right track. I know what I should and should not eat and what is permissible for snacking purposes. My meal plan today looks like pineapple carrot juice for breakfast and dinner, raw veggies and almonds for snacks, and refried beans and salsa for lunch. Let the detox continue!

Leave a Reply

