Final day

I am starting my final day of the Martha Stewart’s detox program. I actually haven’t found it to be as bad as I thought, I guess because you don’t have to give up food like some other diets, but I have noticed some positive changes from the plan.

First, my neck is always sore–I don’t know why, but it is. I have tried going to chiropractors and sleeping with special pillows, but nothing really seems to help. I can say, that this detox has helped the pain in my neck! I can move it from side to side and look over my shoulder without pain! I don’t know if it is the toxins that were in my causing me pain or the fact that I ate tons of pineapple (a natural anti-inflammatory), but whatever it was, worked like a charm.

Second, yesterday I mentioned my skin looking glowy. Well, it has gotten better with every passing day. I look so healthy (and young!); wrinkles have naturally minimized and I only need to put a little moisturizer on in the morning because it is dewy! The rest of my skin is soft and smooth as well. Could it be all the fruits and veggies that I ate or the toxins leaving and allowing my body to heal itself or both? I am very happy with the overall results in how I look and feel.

I was not tired this morning when I got up, but energized and ready to start the day. I did forget to weigh myself before rushing out the door to work, but my pants feel loose on me so I might have lost a little bit of weight. That wasn’t my ultimate goal, but if it is a side effect, I won’t complain!

This morning, I have to admit, I was a little sick of carrots and pineapple. So, after two days of that drink, I tried a new blend for my last day.

Peach carrot juice

Serves 2 (breakfast and dinner)

1 (14 oz) can sliced carrots

1 cup peaches in Lite juice

1 cup decaffeinated peach tea (I used Teavana’s Peach Tranquility)

ice

Make a cup of peach tea with a tea bag or loose tea leaves. Reserve 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the tea. Rinse the carrots very well to remove as much sodium as possible before making the juice. Place the carrots into a large glass jar, and using a hand blender, make a puree out of the carrots (it becomes the consistency of baby food). Add the peaches and blend it into the carrots. Mix the tea into the drink until you reach your desired consistency. Serve over crushed ice or blend the ice into the drink. Viola!

I don’t know if I will have an active journal after today to continue with Martha’s plan, but I will try to incorporate more fruit/ veggies drinks into my daily routine and I will also keep up with the exercises that are recommended for detox and general well-being.

Ah, the sun is shining, birds are chirping, and my body is ready for spring! Happy Friday!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Geanna said,

    That’s awesome – congratulations on finishing and feeling great.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

